Uncategorized

Self Care

Self care can be different things to different people. For me, self care means doing stuff for myself that is not medical related that makes me feel good about myself. I try to have a self care schedule of sorts, that’s open to change when needed. Some of my favorite things to do are painting my nails, using oils in my hair, doing face masks, and taking bubble baths. I like to spread this all out throughout the week when I can. Sometimes I have to skip something or change when I do it because my illnesses prevents me from doing it when I really want.

Weekends are always for nail painting and hair oiling. They take the most time, so I prefer to do them when I know I can take the time to do them. Nail painting takes me about an hour, but it is so worth it. I love picking out new colors every week and changing things up. I don’t paint my nails well, it takes a day or two to get all the excess polish off of my skin, but I love the little pop of color it adds to my life. Hair oiling takes about 3-4 hours to do. It takes a bit of time to heat the oils, I always use coconut oil as a base and add in castor oil and/or olive oil. It takes me about 10 minutes to get it all in my hair. And then I let it set for 3-4 hours. It leaves my hair so soft, shiny, and healthy. My illnesses have done their damage to my hair, so taking care of it is important to me.

Using face masks and taking bubble baths can happen more often throughout the week. Face masks are an inexpensive way to help my skin and make me feel like I’m indulging a bit. Bubble baths help me relax, and when I add Epsom Salts, they help my muscles and inflammation as well. Sometimes when I’m having a difficult time relaxing before bed, I will take a bubble bath using lavender bubble bath and Epsom Salts. There is nothing that can relax me quite like that.

I’ve found that self care is really important in making me feel good about myself. Sometimes I feel like all I do for my body is medical stuff. Medications, treatments, therapies…it all takes up so much time. Its nice to take some time to focus on me in a way that doesn’t involve “health”.

One thought on “Self Care

Leave a Reply

