Uncategorized

When Doctors Don’t Tell You Results

There have been a handful of times that I have had tests done and found out the results through other means, not from the doctor ordering the test. Some have been minor, while others, like failing to mention my hearing loss at 10 years old, have been major.

Its been a while since I’ve had to deal with this, but, I’m dealing with it now. Back in January, I went to see an orthopedist, supposedly the best in the area. I’ve been trying to get a better knee brace for 2 years, and it hasn’t been easy with doctors being stupid. Anyways, I went to this guy because he knows a lot about joint hypermobility. He did some xrays and sent me for an MRI. He told me he’d call in 3 weeks.

He never called. A month went by…nothing. So, I called to make a follow-up appointment. That ended up being cancelled by him. This has been going on for a year. I have yet to have my follow-up with him.

I’ve recently gone through a disability reevaluation and got a letter yesterday with everything that has been written up about my case. I gave them access to every doctor I have seen. While reading the report, I found that they had acess to the xray and MRI results and added them in the report. The xray showed that my knee was subluxed at the time (I already knew that, I felt it) and that I have arthritis in that knee, not surprising, but it would have been nice to know. The MRI result shocked me…I have a torn meniscus. I have been limping around with a torn meniscus in my left knee for the past year, if not longer since I don’t know when it happened. This totally explains the increased pain I’ve been having and explains why my left leg is doing worse. 

So, what do I do now? I called my primary care’s office and got an appointment for next Monday. I’m going to see if there’s anything she can do to help treat it. I’m also going to look into filing a complaint against the orthopedist.

Overall, I’m just angry. I have been having increasing pain in my knee and living with an injury he knew about but never told me about. I will keep you updated on how this turns out!

Leave a comment